Supported by


The Press Photographer's Year 2008

With a 25% increase in the entries this year, the jury spent two long days working through the 7,500 photographs, both in slideshow form, and as C-type prints, laid out on the huge Olivier foyer floor at the National Theatre.

A final edit of 146 photographs has been made and 13 prizes have been awarded. What follows is the winners list and a web gallery of the complete edit that will feature in the book and exhibition. This is "The Press Photographer's Year 2008".

To start the slideshow from the beginning click on the "Photograph of the Year", the other winning picture links will take you to that part of the slideshow, where it will then continue from that point on.

Download the 2008 Results Press Release
PDF, 220kb

The Results

Daniel Berehulak, Getty Images

FIRST PRIZE : News Folio of the Year
Daniel Berehulak, Getty Images

Andrew Parsons, Press Association

Peter Macdiarmid, Getty Images

FIRST PRIZE : Features
Nigel Dickinson

FIRST PRIZE : Photo Essay
David Bebber, The Times

FIRST PRIZE : Portraits
Charles McQuillan, Pacemaker Press


FIRST PRIZE : Arts & Entertainment
Bryan O'Brien, The Irish Times

FIRST PRIZE : Sports Folio of the Year
Andy Hooper, Daily Mail

FIRST PRIZE : Sports Specialist Folio of the Year
Gareth Copley, Press Association

FIRST PRIZE : Sports Action
Andy Hooper, Daily Mail

FIRST PRIZE : Sports Features
Darren Staples, Reuters

FIRST PRIZE : Multimedia
Sean Smith, The Guardian